NEU_research_brain organoid_bateup Faculty in the Division of Neurobiology (NEU) engage in advanced research in neuroscience from the molecular to the integrative and computational levels. Specific topics under investigation include: molecular and biophysical analysis of ion channels; receptors and signal transduction mechanisms; formation and plasticity of synapses; control of neural cell fate and pattern formation; neuronal growth-cone guidance, target recognition and regeneration; mechanisms of sensory processing in the visual, auditory, olfactory and gustatory systems; and development and function of neural networks. The preparations being investigated range from cells in culture, to simple invertebrate systems and model genetic organisms, to the mammalian cerebral cortex. The faculty offer an integrated approach to training in modern neurobiology, spanning the use of molecular and classical genetics; molecular, biochemical, cell biological and anatomical methods; electrophysiological and biophysical techniques; functional genomics; advanced optical imaging; and computational analysis. Members of the Division (as well as faculty from the Divisions of Cell & Developmental Biology and Genetics & Development) also participate in the campus-wide Neuroscience Graduate Program, which is administered by the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute and includes faculty from the Departments of Psychology, Integrative Biology, Physics (College of Letters and Science), Vision Science (School of Optometry), Environmental Science, Policy and Management (College of Natural Resources), and Chemical Engineering (College of Chemistry). While the MCB Program welcomes students interested in all areas of neuroscience, students focused primarily on systems-level and cognitive neuroscience are also encouraged to consider applying to the Neuroscience Graduate Program. The Division sponsors a weekly seminar series by invited speakers, and together with the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute co-sponsors the annual campus-wide Neuroscience retreat.


The following is an alphabetical list of active MCB faculty members in the division and brief descriptions of their research. Additional faculty lists are available using the following links:

Emeriti and Professors of the Graduate School | Secondary Divisional Affiliates


Hillel Adesnik
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
Dynamics of neural circuits underlying information processing in the cerebral cortex.

Stephen Brohawn
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
Molecular basis of sensory transduction and cellular electrical signaling

Yang Dan
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Neurobiology
Information processed by neuronal circuits

Daniel Feldman
Professor of Neurobiology
Sensory processing and plasticity in cerebral cortex

Marla Feller
Professor of Neurobiology
The development and function of retinal circuits

Yvette Fisher
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
Flexibility of neural circuits for navigation

Andrea Gomez
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
Instructive cues for neural form and function

Ehud Isacoff
Professor of Neurobiology
Ion channel function and synaptic plasticity

Na Ji
Professor of Neurobiology
Development of microscopy methods for clearer, deeper, and faster in vivo tissue imaging

Richard H. Kramer
CH and Annie Li Chair in Molecular Biology of Diseases and Professor of Neurobiology
Chemical signaling within and between neurons

Stephan Lammel
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
Organization and function of neural circuits

David Presti
Teaching Professor of Neurobiology

David Schaffer
Professor of Neurobiology
Molecular investigations of stem cells and viral gene delivery

Mark Tanouye
Professor (Affiliated) of Neurobiology
Mechanisms of nervous system structure and function

Doris Tsao
Professor of Neurobiology

[Return to Top]

Emeriti and Professors of the Graduate School

John Ngai
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
Molecular and cellular mechanisms of olfaction

W. Geoffrey Owen
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
Membrane biophysics; retinal neurophysiology

Mu-ming Poo
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology

Frank Werblin
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
Neurophysiology of vision

Gerald Westheimer
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Neurobiology
Neurobiology; psychophysics

Bob Zucker
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Neurobiology
Cellular neurophysiology; synaptic biophysics

[Return to Top]

Secondary Divisional Affiliates

The following faculty have a secondary affiliation with the Neurobiology division.

Diana Bautista
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
Molecular mechanisms of transduction in touch and pain receptors

Beth Burnside
Professor Emerita of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
Cell biology of the photoreceptor cytoskeleton

Andrew Dillin
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Thomas and Stacey Siebel Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
My laboratory works on the genetic and molecular mechanisms that regulate aging and aging-related disease.

Gian Garriga
Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
Developmental neurobiology; molecular genetics

Ellen Lumpkin
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
Molecular mechanisms in somatosensory decoding

Kristin Scott
Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
Processing gustatory information in the Drosophila brain

David Weisblat
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
Developmental biology

[Return to Top]