Department News

Below are articles from various sources about members of MCB and their research.

August 02, 2023

Drubin ASCB Keith Porter AwardDavid Drubin, Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology, received the 2023 Keith R. Porter Lecture Award from the The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB). This award is named in memory of Keith R.

August 02, 2023

Coral Zhou ASCB awardCoral Zhou, an MCB postdoc in Rebecca Heald's lab, received the 2023 Merton Bernfield Memorial Award from the The American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB). This award was established to honor outstanding postdocs or graduate students with member donations in memory of pediatrician and cell biologist Merton Bernfield.

July 19, 2023

Lumpkin Rennie AwardEllen Lumpkin, Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology, has been a selected as the winner of the 2023 Rennie Fund for the Study of Epilepsy. This award, from the Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute (HWNI), will support her research proposal "Identifying Susceptibility Genes for Reflex Seizures".

July 19, 2023

MTx emphasis graphicMCB's newest division, Molecular Therapeutics (MTx), has officially launched and undergraduates now have the option to pursue this new major emphasis with classes starting this Fall 2023.

June 30, 2023

Michael RapeMichael Rapé, Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology, has recently been elected as a new Associate Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO). 69 scientists have been named new members for their contributions spanning the spectrum of life science research.

June 27, 2023

Mark PlittMark Plitt, an MCB postdoc in the lab of Yvette Fisher, has recently been named one of the 2023 Jane Coffin Childs Fellows. Twenty-seven new fellows were selected for this esteemed fellowship program in biomedical research based on their doctoral research accomplishments, innovative research plans, and their chosen scientific mentors

June 15, 2023

Robert SaxtonRobert Saxton, Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine, has received the 2023 ICIS-Regeneron New Investigator Award for Excellence in Cytokine & Interferon Research. Dr.

June 07, 2023

Filipa Rijo-FerreiraFilipa Rijo-Ferreira, Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Immunology and Molecular Medicine, is one of 15 scientists named as Searle Scholars for 2023 for her research on "Circadian host-parasite interactions and their impact on malaria transmission".

May 31, 2023

Ian SwinburneAssistant Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology, Ian Swinburne, was named one of the 2023-2024 Hellman Fellows.

May 31, 2023

David WeisblatDavid Weisblat, Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology, was elected to the 2023 Society for Developmental Biology (SDB) Academy.