Below are articles from various sources about members of MCB and their research.

May 23, 2009

MCB held its 2009 Graduate Commencement ceremony on Friday, May 22.

MCB Graduates 2009

Professor Robert Tjian gave the commencement address. Leonid Teytelman gave the student address. Walter Fischler received the Nicholas Cozzarelli Prize.  Stephanie Szobota and Philip Johnson were presented with the Alan Bearden Award.


May 14, 2009

The May edition of ScienceMatters@Berkeley includes profiles of three MCB faculty members: Professor of Neurobiology John Ngai, Assistant Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology Diana Bautista, and Professor of Neurobiology Richard Kramer.

Read Profiles >

May 01, 2009

A conference titled "From Motors to Morphogenesis: Oster-Inspired Research" will be held May 30-31 at UC Berkeley. The goal of the meeting is to discuss new and exciting advances in cell biophysics inspired and pioneered by MCB Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology George Oster.

More Information >

April 28, 2009

Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Hiroshi Nikaido and Professor of Neurobiology Mu-ming Poo have been elected to the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of their distinguished and continuing achievements in original research.

More Information >

April 21, 2009

Edward Penhoet, former MCB faculty member and former Dean of the School of Public Health, has been elected as a Fellow to the prestigious American Academy of Arts & Sciences. Fellows include leaders in the sciences, the humanities and the arts, business, public affairs, and the nonprofit sector.

More Information >

April 15, 2009

The second annual Genetics, Development and Molecular Evolution Supergroup Symposium will be on Tuesday, May 12, 2009. Additional information and registration form are available here.

April 13, 2009

MCB graduate student Hana Lee of Professor Rachel Brem’s lab was selected as one of the 2009 recipients of The Paul and Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans. The Paul & Daisy Soros Fellowships for New Americans are awarded to immigrants to the United States or children of immigrants, and are based on the candidate’s creativity, originality, and initiative; commitment to and capacity for accomplishment; and commitment to the values expressed in the US Constitution and the Bill of Rights. The third

March 18, 2009

Candidates for the Bowes Research Fellowship will be presenting their work at a symposium on Thursday, April 9, 2009 from 4:00 to 6:00 p.m. in 100 Genetics & Plant Biology Building (pre and post-reception in Koshland Hall Lobby).

Speakers include:

March 12, 2009

Professor Marc Kirschner leads off an exciting program for this year's Cell & Developmental Biology Symposium on "Systems Cell Biology" on Tuesday, March 24. Please register if you plan to attend.

More Information and Registration >

February 24, 2009

Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology David Drubin has been selected as the next Editor-in-Chief of Molecular Biology of the Cell (MBC), the journal of the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB).