Matthew Akamatsu headshotMatthew Akamatsu (Drubin lab) - 2020 ASCB Porter Prize for Research Excellence Ana Milunovic Jevtic headshotAna Milunovic Jevtic (Lishko lab) - 2020 Global Consortium for Reproductive Longevity and Equality (GCRLE) Postdoctoral Scholar Award Sarah Leinwand headshotSarah Leinwand (Scott lab) - K99 Award from the NIH Brain Initiative
Deepa Ramamurthy headshotDeepa Ramamurthy (Feldman lab) - National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke (NINDS) F32 Postdoctoral National Research Service Award (NRSA) fellowship Koning Shen headshotKoning Shen (Dillin lab) - Glenn Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship Hanlin Zhang headshotHanlin Zhang (Dillin lab) - Larry L. Hillblom Foundation Postdoctoral Fellowship

MCB Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow Award recipients 

We are excited to announce the recipients of our annual MCB Outstanding Postdoctoral Fellow Awards! Each year, the department honors five postdocs (one in each division) for excellence in research, contributions to the division and department, mentoring, and outreach.


Jun-Jie (Gogo) Liu headshot
Jun-Jie (Gogo) Liu
(Doudna lab) - studies CRISPR-Cas enzymes and investigates the possible anti-viral function of long non-coding RNAs. Liu is working on a project of HIV-1 related IncRNAs, which has resulted in many important discoveries and set up an effective platform for an RNA structural study both in vitro and in vivo that will benefit all RNA research.


Matt Akamatsu headshot
Matthew Akamatsu
(Drubin lab) - combines mathematical modeling, human stem cell genome-editing, and fluorescence microscopy to study how actin produces force to function in cellular membrane trafficking processes.


Salil Bidaye headshot
Salil Bidaye
(Scott lab) - studies the neural control of walking behavior and the neural pathways that underlay a fly's decision to walk. His research has led to the identification of critical control elements for walking initiation.


Laura McIntyre headshot
Laura McIntyre
(Robey lab) - is investigating a fundamental problem in developmental biology and immunology: how developing thymocytes choose between CD4 or CD8 T cell lineages.


Polina Kosillo
(Bateup lab) - is interested in understanding the molecular and cellular basis of psychiatric disorders. Her goal is to determine how mutations in the Tsc1 gene, which cause the neurodevelopmental disorder Tuberous Sclerosis Complex (TSC), affect the molecular profile and functional properties of dopamine neurons.


Rebecca Bartke headshotRebecca Bartke (Hockemeyer lab) - MCB Industrial Affiliates Program (IAP) Amgen Graduate Student Fellowship Laura Craciun headshotLaura Craciun (Saijo lab) - University of California Dissertation-Year Fellowship Santiago Yori Restrepo headshotSantiago Yori Restrepo (Martin lab) - 2020 HHMI Gilliam Fellow
Jin Young Kim headshot
Jin Young Kim
Julian Alva Yano headshot
Julian Alva Yano
Jin Young Kim and Julian Alva Yano (rotation students) - National Science Foundation Graduate Research Fellowship (NSF GRFP)


Molly Hydorn headshot Molly Hydorn (Marletta lab) - Kazuo Gerald Yanaba and Ting Jung Award for oral presentation at the Honors Research Symposium


Congratulations to the recipients of our annual commencement awards for research, academic, and community achievement! We invite you to click the links below to learn about our commencement honors and the 2020 awardees.



Back to Main Fall 2020 Newsletter Page



Connect With Us!
Twitter bird icon
MCB Twitter
Facebook icon
MCB Facebook

LinkedIn icon
LinkedIn Postdocs, PhDs, or Undergrads

Cal Alumni Network icon
Cal Alumni Network
Give to MCB icon
Give to MCB

berkeleyMCB full Logo