Department News

Below are articles from various sources about members of MCB and their research.

Leslie Chung-Lei Sheu's dogged scientific curiosity, academic success and empathy for the downtrodden have earned her the University Medal, the campus's top honor for a graduating senior.

Read more >

May 14, 2008

MCB faculty member, Jamie H. D. Cate, received one of the first grants awarded by the BP-sponsored Energy Biosciences Institute.

More details >

May 06, 2008

Professor John Kuriyan and Professor Jasper Rine are among 212 scholars, scientists, artists, civic, corporate and philanthropic leaders elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences, one of the nation's oldest and most prestigious honorary societies and independent policy research centers.

Read the press release >

April 30, 2008

Professor Michael Botchan and Professor Jasper Rine are among 72 new members and 18 foreign associates elected to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), one of the nation's most prestigious societies of scholars engaged in science and engineering research.

Read the press release >

April 30, 2008

Professor John Ngai, Coates Family Professor of Neuroscience and Director of the Functional Genomics Laboratory at UC Berkeley, and his colleagues have found that insulin-like growth factor (IGF) plays a critical role in setting up the connections between chemical detectors in the nose and the brain's olfactory centers.

April 01, 2008

Professor Emeritus of Immunology Robert Isaac Mishell, MD died of heart failure on March 6, 2008 at the age of 73. Co-author of 45 publications, he invented the Mishell-Dutton culture technique in 1967 which is still in use today.



Robert Isaac Mishell, MD
May 18, 1934 - March 6, 2008

March 13, 2008

The 2008 CDB Spring Symposium on the Cell Biology of Microbial Pathogenesis will be held on Tuesday, March 25th, 2008, in 2050 Valley Life Sciences Building. Visit the symposium website for information and registration.

March 06, 2008
Howard Schachman, has been selected by the UC Berkeley Emeritus Association (UCBEA) as its Distinguished Emeritus of the Year. The UCBEA noted that Professor Schachman's "...contributions to science since his retirement are staggering...". A public celebration of this recognition will be planned for the future.


January 22, 2008
May 28 - May 30, 2008, Berkeley, CA

We are pleased to announce the Integrating Evolution, Development and Genomics (IEDG) 2008 conference. This student-organized meeting is the second iteration of the evo-devo meeting held at UC Berkeley in May 2006.

Register now for this exciting, upcoming conference!

January 14, 2008
Michael Rape has been chosen to receive a $1.5M National Institutes of Health New Innovator Award.

Michael is one of 29 recipients of these awards which will be announced Wednesday, September 19, 2007, in Washington, D.C..

For additional information, please see the press release >

September 19, 2007

On August 10, 2007, the campus community lost Robert (Bob) K. Mortimer, one of its kindest, most generous, members who is justly credited as being the father of his field. Bob’s pioneering work led to thousands of scientific careers dedicated to the study of that glorious microbe, the yeast Saccharomyces cerevisiae, responsible for such pleasures of life as beer, bread, wine.

August 27, 2007

Eminent biochemist Daniel E. Koshland Jr., former editor of the journal Science and a tireless booster of the biological sciences at the University of California, Berkeley, died Monday, July 23, 2007 following a massive stroke. Koshland, a long time professor of Molecular & Cell Biology at UC Berkeley and a resident of Lafayette, Calif., was 87.

July 24, 2007

Professors of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Jennifer Doudna and Carolyn Bertozzi, along with the Berkeley Health Sciences Initiative (HSI), will share a $1.8 million gift from Gilead Sciences, Inc over the next four years.

For additional information see the press release at

July 18, 2007

The first analysis of the genome of the sea anemone shows it to be nearly as complex as the human genome, and researchers say it provides major insights into the common ancestor of not only humans and sea anemones, but of nearly all multi-celled animals.

July 18, 2007

Professor G. Steven Martin became Chair and Professor Michael Botchan became co-Chair on July 1, 2007. In addition, the Department welcomes three new division heads: John Kuriyan for BMB, Michael Levine for GGD, and Ehud Isacoff for Neurobiology. Division Heads Astar Winoto in Immunology, and David Drubin in CDB will remain in their current roles.

July 06, 2007