Department News

Below are articles from various sources about members of MCB and their research.

Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology Robert Tjian received a $918,000 grant from the California Institute for Regenerative Medicine (CIRM) to develop new molecular tools and novel technologies for high efficiency gene targeting in stem cells.

Read More >

December 16, 2008

The Berkeley Center for Emerging and Neglected Diseases (CEND), an inter-disciplinary research center that includes many faculty members in MCB, received a $7 million pledge from philanthropist Henry Wheeler.

More Information >

December 15, 2008

It is with regret that we announce that Professor Jeffery Winer passed away the morning of December 9 after a short illness. Professor Winer served the Department and campus in many ways and he will be greatly missed.

Donations may be sent to the Jeffery Winer Memorial Scholarship:
University of California
Department of Molecular and Cell Biology
Jeffery Winer Memorial Scholarship Fund
142 LSA #3200
Berkeley, CA 94720-3200

More Information >

December 09, 2008

Professor of Cell and Developmental Biology Randy Schekman is the 2008 recipient of the Dickson Prize in Medicine from the University of Pittsburgh. The prize is awarded annually for "innovative, paradigm-shifting biomedical research".

Read More >

November 24, 2008

The MCB Department is hosting a symposium titled "Humanity's Genes and the Human Condition" on Saturday, November 15.  Additional details, including the full schedule and registration form, are available at the link below.

More Information >

November 13, 2008

Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development Nicole King is on the "20 under 40" list of the "Best Brain in Science" in the December 2008 issue of Discover magazine.

November 12, 2008

It is with regret that we announce that Emeritus Professor Joe Neilands passed away peacefully on Thursday October 23rd, after several months battling an illness.

John Brian “Joe” Neilands

September 11, 1921 – October 23, 2008

October 27, 2008

The Trustees of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) have elected Professor of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology Robert Tjian as President of HHMI effective April 1, 2009.

Read UC Press Release >
Read HHMI Press Release >

September 30, 2008

Professor Emerita Paola Timiras passed away on Friday night, due to complications from heart valve replacement surgery she underwent last Spring. Her energy, enthusiasm and sense of humor will be greatly missed.

Read More >

September 15, 2008

Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry Charles Dekker died of complications due to cancer on Saturday, September 6, 2008 at age 88.

September 08, 2008

The National Institutes of Health (NIH) has awarded Professor Iswar Hariharan a $200,000 EUREKA grant which funds exceptionally innovative research projects with a potentially high impact.

Read the NIH Press Release >

September 03, 2008

Professor of Immunology & Pathogenesis Mark Schlissel has been appointed as the new Dean of Biological Sciences for the College of Letters & Science. He replaces Professor of Neurobiology Geoff Owen who served as Dean since 2002.

Read More >

September 03, 2008

Emeritus Professor Gunther Stent passed away early Thursday morning, June 12th of pneumonia at his home in Haverford, Pa. He was 84 years old. Stent was Chair of the Department of Molecular Biology for 6 years (1980-86) and was the founding Chair of the newly created Department of Molecular and Cell Biology from 1987 until 1992.

Read the UC Berkeley Press Release >

June 13, 2008

Yang Dan, Abby F. Dernburg and Michael B. Eisen have received one of the most sought-after honors in biomedical research: appointment as Howard Hughes Medical Institute (HHMI) investigators.

Read the UC Berkeley press release >

Read the HHMI press release >

May 30, 2008

Rachel Brem, Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development, has been chosen to receive the Ellison New Scholar Award in Aging. New Scholar candidates are investigators who are nominated by U.S. medical institutions and universities for their outstanding promise in aging research.

About the Ellison New Scholar Award >

May 23, 2008