Fall 2023 | New and Noteworthy: Faculty

Congratulations to our recently promoted faculty!
BrohawnStephen Brohawn – MCB Associate Professor of Neurobiology ParkEunyong Park – MCB Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics, and Structural Biology
ZoncuRoberto Zoncu – MCB Professor of Molecular Therapeutics  
BateupAssociate Professor Helen Bateup – MCB Outstanding Teaching Award Chris ChangProfessor Christopher Chang – 2024 American Chemical Society (ACS) Alfred Bader Award in Bioinorganic or Bioorganic Chemistry
Michelle ChangProfessor Michelle Chang – 2024 American Chemical Society (ACS) National Award for Creative Work in Fluorine Chemistry; 2023 Dr. Margaret Faul Award for Women in Chemistry DoudnaProfessor Jennifer Doudna – Inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame
DrubinProfessor David Drubin – Keith R. Porter Lecture Award from the American Society for Cell Biology (ASCB); Outstanding Teaching Award from the MCB Department, UC Berkeley FellerProfessor Marla Feller – Member National Academy of Sciences; Member American Academy of Arts and Sciences
FirestoneProfessor of the Graduate School Gary Firestone – Berkeley Faculty Service Award LareauAssistant Professor Liana Lareau – Shu Chien Early Career Award
LewisAssistant Professor Samantha Lewis – 2023 Prytanean Faculty Enrichment Award; Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) Measuring Metabolism Across Scales grant LumpkinProfessor Ellen Lumpkin – 2023 Rennie Fund for the Study of Epilepsy
MarquseeProfessor Susan Marqusee – Assistant Director at the National Science Foundation overseeing Biological Sciences (on loan) MartikAssistant Professor Megan Martik – NIH Director's New Innovator Award
NogalesProfessor Eva Nogales – 2023 Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine NunezAssistant Professor James Nuñez – 2023 Spark Award from the Bakar Fellows Program
ParkAssistant Professor Eunyong Park – 2023 Amgen Young Investigator Award RapeProfessor Michael Rapé – Associate Member of the European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO)
Rijo-FerreiraAssistant Professor (Affiliated) Filipa Rijo-Ferreira – NIH Director's New Innovator Award; 2023 Searle Scholar SaxtonAssistant Professor Robert Saxton – ARC Institute Ignite Award; 2023 ICIS-Regeneron New Investigator Award for Excellence in Cytokine & Interferon Research
SchepartzProfessor Alanna Schepartz – ARC Institute Innovation Investigator SwinburneAssistant Professor Ian Swinburne – 2023–2024 Hellman Fellow
ThornerDistinguished Professor Emeritus Jeremy Thorner – appointed by the International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology (IUBMB) to chair a multi-national committee to update the nomenclature for the human protein kinases and their orthologs in the Enzyme Convention (EC) database. TitovAssistant Professor Denis Titov – Koret–Berkeley–TAU (KBT) Initiative in Computational Biology Joint Research Grant Award; UC Cancer Research Coordinating Committee Faculty Seed Award
WeisblatProfessor of the Graduate School David Weisblat – elected to the 2023 Society for Developmental Biology (SDB) Academy ZoncuProfessor Roberto Zoncu – Chan Zuckerberg Initiative (CZI) Measuring Metabolism Across Scales grant




Back to Main Fall 2023 Newsletter Page



Connect With Us!
X formally Twitter icon
MCB X (formally Twitter)
LinkedIn icon
LinkedIn Postdocs, PhDs, or Undergrads
Cal Alumni Network icon
Cal Alumni Network
Give to MCB icon
Give to MCB

berkeleyMCB full Logo