Below you will find directory information for MCB faculty members. For a list of faculty with their research interests, see the Faculty Research Descriptions page.

Faculty | Lecturers | Emeriti and Professors of the Graduate School


Faculty

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Hillel Adesnik
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 642-2107hadesnik@berkeley.edu201 Weill Hall
Ana Arruda
Assistant Professor, Affiliated of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
aarruda@berkeley.edu129 Morgan Hall
Greg Barton
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-2083barton@berkeley.edu401A Weill Hall
Helen Bateup
Associate Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 664-4010bateup@berkeley.edu291A Weill Hall
Diana Bautista
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8460dbautista@berkeley.edu351A Weill Hall
Eric Betzig
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
ebcal@berkeley.edu306 Barker Hall
David Bilder
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8605bilder@berkeley.edu539A Weill Hall
Michael Botchan
Dean of Biological Sciences Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-7057mbotchan@berkeley.edu380 Li Ka Shing Center
Gloria Brar
Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
510-664-7064gabrar@berkeley.edu628 Barker Hall
Steven E. Brenner
Professor (Affiliated) of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 643-9131brenner@compbio.berkeley.edu461A Koshland Hall
Stephen Brohawn
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4644brohawn@berkeley.edu289A Weill Hall
Carlos Bustamante
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Raymond and Beverly Sackler Chair and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-9706carlosb@berkeley.edu608A Stanley Hall
Jamie H. D. Cate
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 541-7235j-h-doudna-cate@berkeley.eduInnovative Genomics Institute, Rm 212C
Christopher Chang
Class of 1942 Chair and Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-4704chrischang@berkeley.edu532 Latimer Hall
Michelle Chang
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-8545mcchang@berkeley.edu125 Lewis Hall
Kathleen Collins
Walter and Ruth Schubert Family Chair, Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-1598kcollins@berkeley.edu522 Barker Hall
Laurent Coscoy
Associate Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 643-4128lcoscoy@berkeley.edu451A Weill Hall
Jeffery Cox
C.H. Li Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Endocrinology, Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-7206jeff.cox@berkeley.edu388 Li Ka Shing Center
Yang Dan
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-2833ydan@berkeley.edu230D LKS
Xavier Darzacq
Associate Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 664-9103darzacq@berkeley.edu488 Li Ka Shing Center
Abby Dernburg
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 666-3615afdernburg@lbl.gov331A Weill Hall
Andrew Dillin
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Thomas and Stacey Siebel Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 666-3736dillin@berkeley.edu400A Li Ka Shing Center
Jennifer A. Doudna
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Li Ka Shing Chancellor's Chair in Biomedical and Health Sciences and Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
doudna@berkeley.edu512G Berkeley Way
David G. Drubin
Ernette Comby Chair in Microbiology Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-3692drubin@berkeley.edu606 Barker
Michel DuPage
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-5085dupage@berkeley.edu441A Weill Hall
Michael B. Eisen
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Raymond & Beverly Sackler Chair in Computational Biology, and Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 666-3639mbeisen@berkeley.edu151A Koshland Hall
Daniel Feldman
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-1723dfeldman@berkeley.edu189A Weill Hall
Marla Feller
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-1726mfeller@berkeley.edu195A Weill Hall
Yvette Fisher
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4339yfisher@berkeley.edu131A Weill Hall
John G. Flannery
Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-0178flannery@berkeley.edu112B Barker Hall
Daniel A. Fletcher
Professor (Affiliated) of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-5624fletch@berkeley.edu708A Stanley Hall
Meng-meng Fu
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
mengmengfu@berkeley.edu221A Weill Hall
Hernan G. Garcia
Associate Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-7847hggarcia@berkeley.edu501C Weill Hall
Gian Garriga
Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 642-5859garriga@berkeley.edu141 Koshland Hall
Britt Glaunsinger
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-5427Withheld585B LKS
Andrea Gomez
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4396gomez@berkeley.edu231 Weill Hall
Iswar Hariharan
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-7438ikh@berkeley.edu525B Weill Hall
Richard Harland
Senior Associate Dean of Biological Sciences, C.H. Li Distinguished Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 643-6003harland@berkeley.edu571A Weill Hall
Eva Harris
Professor (Affiliated) of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
510 642-4845eharris@berkeley.edu
Lin He
Thomas and Stacey Siebel Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Research and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-9338lhe@berkeley.edu300C Li Ka Shing Center
Rebecca Heald
Department Co-Chair and Flora Lamson Hewlett Chair and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-5493bheald@berkeley.edu311A Weill Hall
Dirk Hockemeyer
Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-9851hockemeyer@berkeley.edu400B Li Ka Shing Center
James Hurley
Kirsch Springer Chair in Biological Sciences and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-9483jimhurley@berkeley.edu374D Stanley Hall
Nicholas Ingolia
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 664-7071ingolia@berkeley.edu422 Barker Hall
Ehud Isacoff
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 642-9853ehud@berkeley.edu271A Weill Hall
Na Ji
Professor of Neurobiology
510-664-7049jina@berkeley.edu280 Li Ka Shing Center
Gary Karpen
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 486-5034gkarpen@berkeley.edu341A Weill Hall
Nicole King
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 643-9395nking@berkeley.edu708B Stanley Hall
David Kirn
Adjunct Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
dkirn@berkeley.edu
Arash Komeili
Professor (Affiliated) of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-2140komeili@berkeley.edu261A Koshland Hall
Doug Koshland
Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Chair in the Biological Sciences & Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 643-5223koshland@berkeley.edu408 Barker Hall
Richard H. Kramer
CH and Annie Li Chair in Molecular Biology of Diseases and Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-2406rhkramer@berkeley.edu121A Weill Hall
John Kuriyan
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Chancellor's Adjunct Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-0137kuriyan@berkeley.edu508B Stanley Hall
Stephan Lammel
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-7821lammel@berkeley.edu145 Weill Hall
Liana Lareau
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-4925lareau@berkeley.edu512B Innovative Genomics Institute Building
Samantha Lewis
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-5834samlewis@berkeley.edu371A Weill Hall
Lorenzo Lones
Assistant Teaching Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
llones@berkeley.edu599 Weill Hall
Bronwyn Lucas
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
bronwynlucas@berkeley.eduArrives 7/1/23
Ellen Lumpkin
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-5199lumpkin@berkeley.edu351D Weill Hall
Kunxin Luo
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-3183kluo@berkeley.edu384 Li Ka Shing
Michael Marletta
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-8758marletta@berkeley.edu374B Stanley Hall
Susan Marqusee
Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-7678marqusee@berkeley.edu576 Stanley Hall
Megan Martik
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-4930martik@berkeley.edu591A Weill Hall
Andreas Martin
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 666-2763a.martin@berkeley.edu570 Stanley Hall
Sabeeha Merchant
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
sabeeha@berkeley.edu408B Stanley Hall
Barbara Meyer
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 643-5585bjmeyer@berkeley.edu125 Koshland Hall
Craig T. Miller
Associate Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 642-7840ctmiller@berkeley.edu551D Weill Hall
Evan Miller
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-1617evanwmiller@berkeley.edu227 Hildebrand Hall
Priya Moorjani
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-5149moorjani@berkeley.edu308C Stanley Hall
Dipti Nayak
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-5267dnayak@berkeley.edu141 Koshland Hall
David Nguyen
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
david.n.nguyen@berkeley.edu
Eva Nogales
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-0557enogales@lbl.gov708C Stanley Hall
Daniel K. Nomura
Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 643-7258dnomura@berkeley.eduInnovative Genomics Institute Building 312G
James Nuñez
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
jamesnunez@berkeley.edu506 Barker Hall
Molly Ohainle
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-4581ohainle@berkeley.edu
James Olzmann
Associate Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-1053olzmann@berkeley.edu386 Li Ka Shing Center
Eunyong Park
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
510-664-5170eunyong_park@berkeley.edu470 Stanley Hall
Daniel Portnoy
Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-3925portnoy@berkeley.edu508 Barker
David Presti
Teaching Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-2111presti@berkeley.edu249 Weill Hall
Michael Rape
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 289-4413mrape@berkeley.edu300B LKS
David Raulet
Esther and Wendy Schekman Chair in Basic Cancer Biology, and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-9521raulet@berkeley.edu481A Weill Hall
Filipa Rijo-Ferreira
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
filipaferreira@berkeley.edu
Donald Rio
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-1071don_rio@berkeley.edu161A Koshland Hall
Ellen Robey
Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-8669erobey@berkeley.edu471A Weill Hall
Daniel S. Rokhsar
Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 642-8314dsrokhsar@gmail.com541A Weill Hall
Kaoru Saijo
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-7076ksaijo@berkeley.edu439A Weill Hall
David Savage
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-7847dsavage@berkeley.edu512H Innovative Genomics Institute
Robert Saxton
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
rsaxton@berkeley.edu
David Schaffer
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-5963schaffer@berkeley.edu274 Stanley Hall
Randy Schekman
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-5686schekman@berkeley.edu482 Li Ka Shing Center
Alanna Schepartz
CZ and Irmgard Distinguished Chair of Chemistry, Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 664-5269schepartz@berkeley.eduTan Hall 491-497
Max Staller
Assistant Professor in Residence of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
mstaller@berkeley.edu171 Koshland Hall
Sarah A. Stanley
Associate Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 666-3729sastanley@berkeley.edu500C Li Ka Shing
Peter Sudmant
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-4700psudmant@berkeley.edu4112 VLSB
Ian Swinburne
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-4068swinburne@berkeley.edu589A Weill Hall
Mark Tanouye
Professor (Affiliated) of Neurobiology
(510) 642-9404tanouye@berkeley.edu115 Wellman
Denis Titov
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-4562titov@berkeley.edu125 Morgan Hall
Robert Tjian
Howard Hughes Medical Institute President and Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 642-0884tijcal@berkeley.edu486 Li Ka Shing Center
Doris Tsao
Professor of Neurobiology
dortsao@berkeley.edu200B LKS
Elçin Ünal
Associate Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 664-9076elcin@berkeley.edu622 Barker Hall
Srigokul Upadhyayula (Gokul)
Assistant Professor in Residence of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
sup@berkeley.edu320 Barker Hall
Fyodor Urnov
Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
urnov@berkeley.edu
Russell Vance
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 643-2795rvance@berkeley.edu419A Weill Hall
Allon Wagner
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
allonwag@berkeley.edu
Matthew Welch
Department Co-Chair and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-9019welch@berkeley.edu301A Weill Hall
Noah Whiteman
Professor of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
whiteman@berkeley.edu321A Weill
Ross Wilson
Assistant Adjunct Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 643-0108rosswilson@berkeley.edu
Ahmet Yildiz
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 666-3792yildiz@berkeley.edu474 Stanley Hall
Ziyang Zhang
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Molecular Therapeutics
Withheld724 Latimer Hall
Qiang Zhou
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-1697qzhou@berkeley.edu585A Li Ka Shing Center
Roberto Zoncu
Professor of Molecular Therapeutics
(510) 664-7108rzoncu@berkeley.edu300A Li Ka Shing Center

Lecturers

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Robin Ball
Continuing Lecturer
rwball@berkeley.edu134 Weill Hall
Robert Beatty
Senior Continuing Lecturer of Immunology
(510) 642-0671prbeatty@berkeley.edu176 Weill Hall
Tamira Elul
Lecturer
tamiraelul@berkeley.edu134 Weill Hall
Isabelle Le Blanc
Continuing Lecturer
(510) 642-4054ileblanc@berkeley.edu100C LKS
Helen Lew
Continuing Lecturer
h_lew@yahoo.com101 Donner Hall
Georg Schwarzer
Continuing Lecturer
cschwarzer@berkeley.edu101 Donner Hall
Steve Takata
Continuing Lecturer
steve_takata@yahoo.com101 Donner Hall

Emeriti and Professors of the Graduate School

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Mark Alper
Adjunct Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
510-339-8595mdalper@berkeley.edu401 Barker Hall
Bruce N. Ames
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 450-7625bnames@berkeley.eduChildren's Hosp. Oakland Research Institute (CHORI)
Giovanna Ferro-Luzzi Ames
Professor Emerita of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 450-7625giovanna@ferro-luzzi.org
Georjana Barnes
Judy Chandler Webb Endowed Chair and Professor Emerita of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 642-5962gbarnes@berkeley.edu608 Barker
Steven Beckendorf
Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 642-7906beckendo@berkeley.edu406 Barker Hall
Beth Burnside
Professor Emerita of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
burnside@berkeley.edu
W. Zacheus Cande
Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
zcande@berkeley.edu391 Weill Hall
Michael Chamberlin
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
profmjc@berkeley.edu
Thomas Cline
Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 643-5632sxlcline@berkeley.edu131A Koshland
Gary Firestone
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8319glfire@berkeley.edu565 Weill Hall
John Gerhart
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-6382jgerhart@berkeley.edu565B Weill Hall
Robert Glaeser
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2905rmglaeser@lbl.gov363B Donner Lab
Caroline Kane
Professor Emerita of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-4118kanecm@berkeley.edu34 Koshland Hall
Judith Klinman
Professor Emerita of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2668klinman@berkeley.edu608 C Stanley
Stuart Linn
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-7583slinn@berkeley.edu206 Barker Hall
Terry Machen
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-2983tmachen@berkeley.edu231A Weill Hall
G. Steven Martin
Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-1508gsm@berkeley.edu480 Li Ka Shing Center
John Ngai
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
(510) 642-9885jngai@socrates.berkeley.edu269A Weill Hall
Hiroshi Nikaido
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2027nhiroshi@berkeley.edu426 Barker Hall
W. Geoffrey Owen
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
(510) 643-8878gowen@berkeley.edu105B Donner Lab
Edward Penhoet
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-7227penhoet@berkeley.edu480 LKS
Mu-ming Poo
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
mpoo@berkeley.edu200B LKS
Jasper Rine
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor and Professor of the Graduate School Division of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
(510) 642-7047jrine@berkeley.edu406 Barker Hall
Henk Roelink
Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Genomics, Evolution, and Development
510 642 5126roelink@berkeley.edu171A Koshland Hall
William Sha
Professor Emeritus of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
bsha@berkeley.edu
Jeremy Thorner
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2558jthorner@berkeley.edu526 Barker Hall
David Weisblat
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8309weisblat@berkeley.edu381A Weill Hall
Frank Werblin
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
werblin@berkeley.edu
Gerald Westheimer
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Neurobiology
(510) 642-4828gwestheimer@berkeley.edu144 Weill Hall
Fred Wilt
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-2807wilt@berkeley.edu569A Weill Hall
Astar Winoto
Williams Endowed Chair and Professor Emeritus of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-0217winoto@berkeley.edu449 Weill Hall
Bob Zucker
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Neurobiology
(510) 642-3407zucker@berkeley.edu111A Weill Hall
David Zusman
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2293zusman@berkeley.edu308 Barker Hall