Below you will find directory information for MCB faculty members. For a list of faculty with their research interests, see the Faculty Research Descriptions page.

Faculty | Lecturers | Emeriti and Professors of the Graduate School


Faculty

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Hillel Adesnik
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 642-2107hadesnik@berkeley.edu201 Weill Hall
Georjana Barnes
Judy Chandler Webb Endowed Chair and Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 642-5962gbarnes@berkeley.edu608 Barker
Greg Barton
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-2083barton@berkeley.edu401A Weill Hall
Helen Bateup
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4010bateup@berkeley.edu291A Weill Hall
Diana Bautista
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8460dbautista@berkeley.edu351A Weill Hall
Eric Betzig
Howard Hughes Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
ebcal@berkeley.edu306 Barker Hall
David Bilder
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8605bilder@berkeley.edu539A Weill Hall
Michael Botchan
Dean of Biological Sciences Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-7057mbotchan@berkeley.edu380 Li Ka Shing Center
Gloria Brar
Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
510-664-7064gabrar@berkeley.edu628 Barker Hall
Steven E. Brenner
Professor (Affiliated) of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-9131brenner@compbio.berkeley.edu461A Koshland Hall
Stephen Brohawn
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4644brohawn@berkeley.edu289A Weill Hall
Carlos Bustamante
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Raymond and Beverly Sackler Chair and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-9706carlosb@berkeley.edu608A Stanley Hall
Jamie H. D. Cate
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 666-2749j-h-doudna-cate@berkeley.eduEnergy Biosciences Building, Rm 212C
Christopher Chang
Class of 1942 Chair and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-4704chrischang@berkeley.edu532 Latimer Hall
Michelle Chang
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-8545mcchang@berkeley.edu125 Lewis Hall
Kathleen Collins
Walter and Ruth Schubert Family Chair, Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-1598kcollins@berkeley.edu522 Barker Hall
Laurent Coscoy
Associate Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 643-4128lcoscoy@berkeley.edu451A Weill Hall
Jeffery Cox
C.H. Li Chair of Biochemistry and Molecular Endocrinology, Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-7206jeff.cox@berkeley.edu388 Li Ka Shing Center
Yang Dan
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-2833ydan@berkeley.edu230D LKS
Xavier Darzacq
Associate Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-9103darzacq@berkeley.edu488 Li Ka Shing Center
Abby Dernburg
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 666-3615afdernburg@lbl.gov331A Weill Hall
Andrew Dillin
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Thomas and Stacey Siebel Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Biology and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 666-3736dillin@berkeley.edu400A Li Ka Shing Center
Jennifer A. Doudna
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Li Ka Shing Chancellor's Chair in Biomedical and Health Sciences and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-0225doudna@berkeley.edu512G Berkeley Way
David G. Drubin
Ernette Comby Chair in Microbiology Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-3692drubin@berkeley.edu606 Barker
Peter Duesberg
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-6549duesberg@berkeley.edu353 Donner Lab
Michel DuPage
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-5085dupage@berkeley.edu441A Weill Hall
Michael B. Eisen
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 666-3639mbeisen@berkeley.edu151A Koshland Hall
Daniel Feldman
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-1723dfeldman@berkeley.edu189A Weill Hall
Marla Feller
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-1726mfeller@berkeley.edu195A Weill Hall
Gary Firestone
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8319glfire@berkeley.edu591A Weill Hall
Yvette Fisher
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4339yfisher@berkeley.edu131A Weill Hall
John G. Flannery
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 642-0178flannery@berkeley.edu112B Barker Hall
Daniel A. Fletcher
Professor (Affiliated) of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-5624fletch@berkeley.edu708A Stanley Hall
Hernan G. Garcia
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-7847hggarcia@berkeley.edu501C Weill Hall
Gian Garriga
Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 642-5859garriga@berkeley.edu141 Koshland Hall
Britt Glaunsinger
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-5427Withheld585B LKS
Andrea Gomez
Assistant Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-4396gomez@berkeley.edu231 Weill Hall
Iswar Hariharan
Department Co-Chair and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-7438ikh@berkeley.edu525B Weill Hall
Richard Harland
Senior Associate Dean of Biological Sciences, C.H. Li Distinguished Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-6003harland@berkeley.edu571A Weill Hall
Lin He
Associate Professor and Thomas and Stacey Siebel Distinguished Chair in Stem Cell Research Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-9338lhe@berkeley.edu300C Li Ka Shing Center
Rebecca Heald
Department Co-Chair and Flora Lamson Hewlett Chair and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-5493bheald@berkeley.edu311A Weill Hall
Dirk Hockemeyer
Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-9851hockemeyer@berkeley.edu400B Li Ka Shing Center
James Hurley
Kirsch Springer Chair in Biological Sciences and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-9483jimhurley@berkeley.edu374D Stanley Hall
Nicholas Ingolia
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 664-7071ingolia@berkeley.edu422 Barker Hall
Ehud Isacoff
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 642-9853ehud@berkeley.edu271A Weill Hall
Na Ji
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
510-664-7049jina@berkeley.edu280 Li Ka Shing Center
Gary Karpen
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 486-5034gkarpen@berkeley.edu341A Weill Hall
Nicole King
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-9395nicoleking.ucb@gmail.com708B Stanley Hall
David Kirn
Adjunct Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
dkirn@berkeley.edu
Arash Komeili
Professor (Affiliated) of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-2140komeili@berkeley.edu261A Koshland Hall
Doug Koshland
Richard and Rhoda Goldman Distinguished Chair in the Biological Sciences & Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-5223koshland@berkeley.edu408 Barker Hall
Richard H. Kramer
CH and Annie Li Chair in Molecular Biology of Diseases and Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-2406rhkramer@berkeley.edu121A Weill Hall
John Kuriyan
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Chancellor's Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-0137kuriyan@berkeley.edu508B Stanley Hall
Stephan Lammel
Associate Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 664-7821lammel@berkeley.edu145 Weill Hall
Liana Lareau
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-4925lareau@berkeley.edu512B Innovative Genomics Institute Building
Samantha Lewis
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-5834samlewis@berkeley.edu371A Weill Hall
Polina Lishko
Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-4687lishko@berkeley.edu221A Weill Hall
Ellen Lumpkin
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-5199lumpkin@berkeley.edu351D Weill Hall
Kunxin Luo
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-3183kluo@berkeley.edu384 Li Ka Shing
Michael Marletta
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-8758marletta@berkeley.edu374B Stanley Hall
Susan Marqusee
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-7678marqusee@berkeley.edu576 Stanley Hall
Megan Martik
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-4930martik@berkeley.edu591A Weill Hall
Andreas Martin
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 666-2763a.martin@berkeley.edu570 Stanley Hall
Sabeeha Merchant
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
sabeeha@berkeley.edu708 Stanley Hall
Barbara Meyer
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-5585bjmeyer@berkeley.edu125 Koshland Hall
Craig T. Miller
Associate Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 642-7840ctmiller@berkeley.edu551D Weill Hall
Evan Miller
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-1617evanwmiller@berkeley.edu227 Hildebrand Hall
Priya Moorjani
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-5149moorjani@berkeley.edu308C Stanley Hall
Dipti Nayak
Assistant Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-5267dnayak@berkeley.edu141 Koshland Hall
Eva Nogales
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-0557enogales@lbl.gov708C Stanley Hall
Daniel K. Nomura
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-2184dnomura@berkeley.eduEnergy Bioscience Building 312G
James Nuñez
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
jamesnunez@berkeley.edu506 Barker Hall
Molly Ohainle
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-4581ohainle@berkeley.eduArrives July 1, 2022
James Olzmann
Associate Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-1053olzmann@berkeley.edu386 Li Ka Shing Center
Eunyong Park
Assistant Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
510-664-5170eunyong_park@berkeley.edu470 Stanley Hall
Daniel Portnoy
Distinguished Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-3925portnoy@berkeley.edu508 Barker
David Presti
Teaching Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-2111presti@berkeley.edu249 Weill Hall
Michael Rape
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 289-4413mrape@berkeley.edu300B LKS
David Raulet
Esther and Wendy Schekman Chair in Basic Cancer Biology, and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-9521raulet@berkeley.edu481A Weill Hall
Filipa Rijo-Ferreira
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
filipaferreira@berkeley.eduArrives January 2022
Jasper Rine
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor and Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 642-7047jrine@berkeley.edu406 Barker Hall
Donald Rio
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-1071don_rio@berkeley.edu161A Koshland Hall
Ellen Robey
Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-8669erobey@berkeley.edu471A Weill Hall
Henk Roelink
Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
510 642 5126roelink@berkeley.edu171A Koshland Hall
Daniel S. Rokhsar
Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 642-8314dsrokhsar@gmail.com541A Weill Hall
Kaoru Saijo
Assistant Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 664-7076ksaijo@berkeley.edu439A Weill Hall
David Savage
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-7847dsavage@berkeley.edu512H Innovative Genomics Institute
David Schaffer
Professor of Neurobiology
(510) 643-5963schaffer@berkeley.edu274 Stanley Hall
Randy Schekman
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-5686schekman@berkeley.edu482 Li Ka Shing Center
Alanna Schepartz
CZ and Irmgard Distinguished Chair of Chemistry, Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 664-5269schepartz@berkeley.eduTan Hall 491-497
Kristin Scott
Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-4152kscott@berkeley.edu181A Koshland
William Sha
Associate Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
bsha@berkeley.edu
Sarah A. Stanley
Associate Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 666-3729sastanley@berkeley.edu500C Li Ka Shing
Peter Sudmant
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-4700psudmant@berkeley.edu4112 VLSB
Ian Swinburne
Assistant Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-4068swinburne@berkeley.edu589A Weill Hall
Mark Tanouye
Professor (Affiliated) of Neurobiology
(510) 642-9404tanouye@berkeley.edu115 Wellman
Denis Titov
Assistant Professor (Affiliated) of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 664-4562titov@berkeley.edu125 Morgan Hall
Robert Tjian
Howard Hughes Medical Institute President and Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-0884tijcal@berkeley.edu486 Li Ka Shing Center
Doris Tsao
Professor of Neurobiology
dortsao@berkeley.edu200B LKS
Elçin Ünal
Associate Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 664-9076elcin@berkeley.edu622 Barker Hall
Srigokul Upadhyayula (Gokul)
Assistant Professor in Residence of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
sup@berkeley.edu320 Barker Hall
Fyodor Urnov
Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
urnov@berkeley.edu
Russell Vance
Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 643-2795rvance@berkeley.edu419A Weill Hall
David Weisblat
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-8309weisblat@berkeley.edu381A Weill Hall
Matthew Welch
Professor of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-9019welch@berkeley.edu301A Weill Hall
Noah Whiteman
Professor of Genetics, Genomics and Development
whiteman@berkeley.edu321A Weill
Ross Wilson
Assistant Adjunct Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-0108rosswilson@berkeley.edu
Astar Winoto
Williams Endowed Chair and Professor of Immunology and Molecular Medicine
(510) 642-0217winoto@berkeley.edu469A Weill Hall
Ahmet Yildiz
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 666-3792yildiz@berkeley.edu474 Stanley Hall
Qiang Zhou
Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 643-1697qzhou@berkeley.edu585A Li Ka Shing Center
Roberto Zoncu
Associate Professor of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 664-7108rzoncu@berkeley.edu300A Li Ka Shing Center

Lecturers

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Robin Ball
Continuing Lecturer
rwball@berkeley.edu134 Weill Hall
Robert Beatty
Senior Continuing Lecturer of Immunology
(510) 642-0671prbeatty@berkeley.edu176 Weill Hall
Tamira Elul
Lecturer
tamiraelul@berkeley.edu134 Weill Hall
Isabelle Le Blanc
Continuing Lecturer
(510) 642-4054ileblanc@berkeley.edu100C LKS
Helen Lew
Continuing Lecturer
h_lew@yahoo.com101 Donner Hall
Georg Schwarzer
Continuing Lecturer
cschwarzer@berkeley.edu101 Donner Hall
Steve Takata
Continuing Lecturer
steve_takata@yahoo.com101 Donner Hall

Emeriti and Professors of the Graduate School

NamePhoneEmailOffice
Bruce N. Ames
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 450-7625bnames@berkeley.eduChildren's Hosp. Oakland Research Institute (CHORI)
Giovanna Ferro-Luzzi Ames
Professor Emerita of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 450-7625giovanna@ferro-luzzi.org
Steven Beckendorf
Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 642-7906beckendo@berkeley.edu406 Barker Hall
Beth Burnside
Professor Emerita of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
burnside@berkeley.edu
W. Zacheus Cande
Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
zcande@berkeley.edu391 Weill Hall
Thomas Cline
Professor Emeritus of Genetics, Genomics and Development
(510) 643-5632sxlcline@berkeley.edu131A Koshland
John Gerhart
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-6382jgerhart@berkeley.edu565B Weill Hall
Robert Glaeser
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2905rmglaeser@lbl.gov363B Donner Lab
Caroline Kane
Professor Emerita of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-4118kanecm@berkeley.edu34 Koshland Hall
Judith Klinman
Professor Emerita of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2668klinman@berkeley.edu608 C Stanley
Stuart Linn
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-7583slinn@berkeley.edu206 Barker Hall
Terry Machen
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-2983tmachen@berkeley.edu231A Weill Hall
G. Steven Martin
Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-1508gsm@berkeley.edu480 Li Ka Shing Center
Howard Mel
Professor Emeritus of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 643-8876hcmel@berkeley.edu363A Donner Lab
John Ngai
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
(510) 642-9885jngai@socrates.berkeley.edu269A Weill Hall
Hiroshi Nikaido
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2027nhiroshi@berkeley.edu426 Barker Hall
W. Geoffrey Owen
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
(510) 643-8878gowen@berkeley.edu105B Donner Lab
Edward Penhoet
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-7227penhoet@berkeley.edu480 LKS
Mu-ming Poo
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
mpoo@berkeley.edu200B LKS
Jeremy Thorner
Distinguished Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2558jthorner@berkeley.edu526 Barker Hall
Frank Werblin
Professor Emeritus of Neurobiology
werblin@berkeley.edu
Gerald Westheimer
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Neurobiology
(510) 642-4828gwestheimer@berkeley.edu144 Weill Hall
Fred Wilt
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Cell Biology, Development and Physiology
(510) 642-2807wilt@berkeley.edu569A Weill Hall
Bob Zucker
Professor of the Graduate School Division of Neurobiology
(510) 642-3407zucker@berkeley.edu111A Weill Hall
David Zusman
Professor Emeritus of Biochemistry, Biophysics and Structural Biology
(510) 642-2293zusman@berkeley.edu308 Barker Hall