Fall 2019 New & Noteworthy: Faculty

New and Noteworthy Faculty

Marla Feller headshotIswar Hariharan headshotJeremy Thorner headshotElçin Ünal headshotRobert Beatty headshotProfessors Marler Feller, Iswar Hariharan, Jeremy Thorner, Assistant Professor Elçin Ünal, and Lecturer Robert Beatty - 2019 MCB Department Award for Teaching Excellence 

Rebecca Heald headshotProfessor Rebecca Heald – 2018-2019 Leon A. Henkin Citation for Distinguished Service Gian Garriga headshotProfessor Gian Garriga – new Associate Executive Dean, Equity and Inclusion
Michel DuPage headshotAssistant Professor Michel DuPage – 2019 Pew-Stewart Scholar for Cancer Research; 2019 NIH Director's New Innovator Award Sarah Stanley headshotAssociate Professor Sarah Stanley - Promoted to MCB Associate Professor

Hillel Adesnik headshotGloria Brar HeadshotStephan Brohawn Headshot 
MCB Assistant Professor Hillel Adesnik & Assistant Professors Gloria Brar, and Stephan Brohawn – 2019 Rose Hills Innovators

Diana Bautista headshotProfessor Diana Bautista – Promoted to MCB Professor; 2019 NIH Director's Transformative Research Award

Gary Firestone headshotProfessor Gary Firestone – Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation Pyramid Award

Marla Feller headshotProfessor Marla Feller – Paul Licht Distinguished Professor in Biological Sciences

Daniel Nomura headshotProfessor Daniel Nomura – Promoted to MCB Professor Arash Komeili headshotMCB affiliated and PMB Professor Arash Komeili – 2019-2020 Bakar Fellow

Nicole King headshotProfessor Nicole King – 2019 Pew Trust Innovation Fund Investigator

Robert Glaeser headshotProfessor Emeritus Robert Glaeser – 2019-2020 Edward A. Dickson Emeriti Professorship
James Hurley headshotProfessor James Hurley – Method to Extend Research in Time (MERIT) Award from the National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases (NIAID) Stephan Lammel headshotAssistant Professor Stephan Lammel – 2019 One Mind – Janssen Rising Star Translational Research Award
Jennifer Doudna headshotProfessor Jennifer Doudna – 2019 California Life Sciences Association's (CLSA) Life Sciences Leadership Award; 2019 LUI Che Woo Prize Laureate; Li Ka Shing Chancellor's Chair in Biomedical and Health Sciences Robert Tjian headshotProfessor Robert Tjian - Li Ka Shing Chancellor's Chair in Biology
Sabeeha Merchant headshotProfessor Sabeeha Merchant – Eveland Warren Endowed Chair Jeremy Thorner headshotProfessor Jeremy Thorner – 2019 Herbert Tabor Research Award of the American Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Matt Welch headshotProfessor Matthew Welch – Francis Williams Chair in Biology Eva Nogales headshotProfessor Eva Nogales – 2020 Biophysical Society Fellow; elected as 2019 European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO) Associate Member
Yang Dan headshotRebecca Heald headshotEhud Isacoff headshotDavid Raulet headshot
Professors Yang Dan, Rebecca Heald, Ehud Isacoff, and David Raulet – Elected to the National Academy of Sciences


Back to Main Fall 2019 Newsletter Page


Connect With Us!
Twitter bird icon
MCB Twitter
Facebook icon
MCB Facebook
LinkedIn icon

Postdocs, PhDs, or Undergrads

Cal Alumni Network icon
Cal Alumni Network
Give to MCB icon
Give to MCB